En Español, click here.
What’s required for an ODOT-Approved Driver Education course?
- Student must be at least 15 years of age.
- Student must have a valid Oregon instruction permit by the first class and it must be valid through the entire course.
- Student must not receive license prior to completion of the course – you may be liable for increased fees.
- Student must complete class prior to turning 18.
- Course requires a commitment to participate in classroom and in-car lessons and to practice new skills outside of class.
- Parent/guardian involvement is required (parent meeting plus practice driving during the course).
What are the benefits of taking an ODOT-Approved Driver Education course?
- Nationally-Recognized Curriculum – Oregon’s Risk Prevention Curriculum, known as the Playbook, is nationally recognized. The Playbook’s third revision (R3) was recently completed and is available for approved courses statewide.
- Certified Instructors – All instructors in ODOT-Approved Driver Education programs are professionally trained and state-certified as required by Oregon Administrative Rule 737-015-0070. They have completed a rigorous program (administered through a grant to Western Oregon University) consisting of 120 hours of training related to Oregon traffic laws, foundations of classroom teaching and management and specialized behind-the-wheel instruction. All instructors hold current First Aid and CPR certification and must complete 15 hours of continuing education credits and teach a minimum of 30 hours in an ODOT-TSO-approved program every two years.
- Specially Equipped Vehicles – All vehicles in ODOT-Approved Driver Education programs are equipped with an instructor brake, and additional rear-view and eye-check mirrors. This equipment provides instructors more control than a standard-equipped vehicle. All vehicles must also be clearly identified with appropriate signage indicating “Student Driver” or “Driver Education Car” as set forth in Oregon Administrative Rule 737-015-0050.
- Proven Performance – Data shows that teens, ages 16-20, who complete an ODOT-Approved Driver Education course are far less likely to receive a traffic conviction or be involved in a serious crash. Based on 2018-2022 ODOT DMV data comparing teens, ages 16-20, who had taken driver education with those who had not, teens who did not take driver education received 86.6% of the citations and 85.3% were involved in crashes. Teens who take an ODOT-Approved Driver Education course learn skills that can, when consistently practiced, lead to lifelong safer driving.
Find a Provider
How do I find an open ODOT-Approved Driver Education provider?
ODOT-Approved Driver Education providers are listed geographically on our Find a Provider page (*New providers are added as they are approved).
Please note that each provider sets their own student fees. We advise you to check with providers for course dates and requirements.
Cost/Reduced Fee Eligibility
How much does an ODOT-Approved Driver Education course cost?
Formal driver education is an investment in your child’s safety. Costs vary by provider, but the current average cost for an ODOT-Approved Driver Education course is $380 after ODOT subsidy. Contact your local provider to get more specific information. Note that an additional small subsidy is available for families who are identified as economically disadvantaged. See the next section for more information on that subsidy.
What subsidies does ODOT provide for lower income / no income families and teens?
Even though driver education is an investment in your teen’s safety, many families are deterred by the initial cost. In Oregon, a driver education course costs an average of $380.*
This amount covers the curriculum materials, instructor’s time, classroom space, vehicle usage, insurance costs, gasoline and other standard course-related expenses.
Average course cost after ODOT subsidy** – $380
Less subsidy – $75
Final cost to student – $305
*Average price if the teen is between 15-17 years old and is expected to complete the course before turning 18.
**Sample estimate. Course costs vary by provider.
To encourage families to sign up their teens for driver education, ODOT offers an additional subsidy of up to $75 to approved providers, who are then able to pass it on as a discount to eligible families. To be eligible, a family must meet the definition of economically disadvantaged according to the Oregon Board of Education. If you meet and can provide proof of the eligibility requirements, you can choose an ODOT-Approved provider in your area and request an estimate.
A valid OREGON permit is required by the first class and through completion of the driver education course. Information on obtaining an Oregon permit can be found here.
My student is registered for an ODOT-Approved Driver Education course but their permit is going to expire before the course ends. What do we do?
Students whose permits will expire prior to course completion must renew their permits. This can be done online, and it’s important to be proactive and renew before expiration. A valid permit is required throughout the course, and it’s unlawful for an unlicensed teen to drive without a valid permit and a qualified licensed adult in the vehicle.
To apply for an instruction permit, visit DMV here.
To renew an instruction permit, visit dmv2u.oregon.gov and follow instructions to “Renew my expiring card” under the License, Permit & ID section. You are not required to retake the knowledge or vision test unless the permit has been expired for one year or more. You will be required to surrender your expiring permit.
Does receiving the ODOT-Approved Driver Education Course completion certificate remove the need for a student to make a personal visit to a DMV field office?
No. A student who has passed an ODOT-Approved Driver Education course will need to take their completion certificate to a DMV field office, take the vision test and submit an application for licensure. While many DMV field offices accept walk-ins, it’s still recommended to make an appointment.
How can my teen get a completion certificate that waives the drive test at DMV field offices?
A completion certificate that waives the drive test at DMV field offices is one of the benefits of successfully completing an ODOT-Approved Driver Education course.
My student has completed an ODOT-Approved Driver Education course. What are the next steps?
A student who has successfully completed an ODOT-Approved Driver Education course will receive a completion certificate that allows them to waive the drive test at the DMV field office. The teen will be required to take the vision exam prior to applying for issuance of a driver license. An appointment for both the exam and driver license issuance can be scheduled together. Take your completion card along to the appointment – the field office will need to see it to waive the drive test.
Will I need to take a Drive Test at the DMV if I pass the course?
If a student has passed an ODOT-Approved Driver Education course, there is no drive test needed! The teen will still need to make an appointment or visit a DMV field office with their Driver Ed completion certificate to complete the licensure process. This includes completing the application, paying fees, taking a vision test and having a picture taken. Please see DMV’s teen driver page for more information.
If a teen has not completed or has failed an ODOT-Approved Driver Education course and needs to take a skills (drive) test, one can be scheduled through DMV2U. Alternatively, DMV has contracted with Class C Testing Businesses for that service. A teen can contact one of these businesses to schedule a drive test. Upon passage, a teen will need to make an appointment at a DMV field office to complete the licensure process. This includes completing and submitting the application, paying fees, taking a vision test and having a picture taken. Please see DMV’s teen driver page for more information.
After Course Completion (license)
I passed my ODOT-Approved Driver Education course. Now what?
If an eligible teen has successfully completed an ODOT-Approved Driver Education course, the teen is not required to take a skills (drive) test at a DMV field office. The teen will still need to visit a DMV field office with their Driver Education completion certificate to complete the licensure process. This includes completing and submitting the application, paying fees, taking a vision test and having a picture taken. Please see DMV’s teen driver page for more information.
CAUTION: If you are thinking about getting your license before completing the course – you may lose some benefits of the course. A student with a license is no longer eligible for ODOT subsidy. Check with your driver education provider first to see if there will be consequences, such as increased fees.